Drug Information Association Logo


DIA Communities

Communities (formerly SIACs) and Scientific Working Groups (SWGs) are just two of many member benefits that DIA offers. Each Community provides a discipline-specific, global network where members can share common experiences and knowledge and connect with others in their particular field. Each SWG provides a cross-disciplinary group of professionals with relevant expertise to advance the science related to the medical product life cycle by addressing key issues and problems.

Communities Role in DIA. Communities provide a forum for volunteers to network and exchange information. Communities also assist DIA in identifying professional development needs in particular interest areas and in providing information to members in career and professional development, to meet those needs.

Community Leadership. Communities have a chairperson or co-chairpersons who take responsibility for the overall activities of the Community. A core committee facilitates the work of each Community.

Community Best Practices.DIA Communities: Recommendations and Best Practices for a Successful Community” This document was developed by a subcommittee of the Community Leadership Council led by avid Clemow. It is intended to provide guidelines for building and operating successful DIA communities that meet the needs of their members and contribute to fulfillment of the DIA mission. 

DIA ConneX. Community members automatically gain access to DIA ConneX, a trusted, interactive, web-based network that links DIA’s 18,000-member global community.

Already a DIA Member? Login to My DIA to join or manage your Communities and DIA ConneX.

Not a DIA Member? Join today.

Scientific Working Groups

Role in DIA. Scientific Working Groups provide a neutral forum for professionals from all settings, including industry, government, and academia, to share ideas and contribute knowledge and solutions that will advance the science of medical product development. The SWGs focus on creating innovative methods and tools and on promoting the dissemination of methods and best practices.  They work with DIA through formats such as publications and educational events to share the outcomes of their efforts with all DIA members and the professional community at large.

SWG Leadership.  SWGs have a chairperson or co-chairpersons who take responsibility for the overall activities of the SWG.  A core committee or subteams may facilitate the work of the SWG.

Joining a SWG. The SWGs welcome professionals with relevant expertise and a commitment to contribute to the work of the group.  Contact the SWG Chairperson or the Subteam Leader of the project that you wish to join for more information.

Scientific Working Groups include:

Adaptive Design SWG
Chair: Zoran Antonijevic, Cytel, Inc.: Zoran.Antonijevic@cytel.com

Bayesian Statistics SWG
Chair: Karen Price, Eli Lilly and Company: price_k@lilly.com

Comparative Effectiveness Research SWG
Chair: Matthew Rotelli, Eli Lilly and Company: rotel@lilly.com

Communities include: 

Chair: Barbara Leishman, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd.

Chemistry, Manufacturing & Controls/Quality System
Chair: Georges France, Novartis Consumer Health S.A.

Clinical Data Management
Chair: Peter Stokman, Merck Sharp and Dohme

Clinical Pharmacology
Co-Chairs: Royce Morrison, RMD Insight, LLC and Stacie Bell, Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals and Howard Greenberg, Janssen R&D

Clinical Research
Chair: Susan Nunchuck, Actelion Clinical Research 

Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance
Chair: Scott McCulloch, TransPerfect Life Sciences

Clinical Trial Disclosure
Chair: Robert Paarlberg, Paarlberg & Associates LLC

Devices & Diagnostics
Chair: Shayesteh Fuerst-Ladani, SFL Regulatory Affairs and Scientific Communication

Document & Records Management 
Chair: Lisa Mulcahy, Mulcahy Consulting, LLC

Chair: OPEN

Electronic Information Integrity
Chair: Teri Stokes, GXP International

Electronic Regulatory Submissions 
Chair: Adair Turner, Mission3, Inc.

Emerging Professionals 
Chair: Yasmin de Faria Krim, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Ethics & the Medicines Lifecycle
Chair: Wendy Lipworth, University of Sydney

Evidence Based Medicine
Chair: OPEN

Global Sourcing
Chair: Nimita Limaye, Tata Consultancy Services

Good Clinical Practices & Quality Assurance
Co-Chairs: Yvonne McCracken, Rx Trials Inc and Katharina Kurpanek, The QM Company

Information Technology 
Chair: Pamela Campbell, EMC Corporation

Investigator & Investigative Sites
Chair: Ana Marquez, Marquez Clinical Site Partners, LLC

Legal Affairs
Chair: Marie Manley, Bristows LLP

Marketing & Sales 
Chair: OPEN

Medical Communications
Chair: Stacey Fung, Genentech, A Member of the Roche Group

Medical Science Liaison
Chair: J. Lynn Bass, Jazz Pharmaceuticals

Medical Writing 
Chair: David Clemow, Lilly USA, LLC

Natural Health Products 
Chair: Pradip Paul, Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Patient Engagement
Chair: Marcia Horn, International Cancer Advocacy Network (ICAN)

Chair: Gesine Bejeuhr, vfa Research-based Pharmaceutical Companies

Preclinical Sciences & OSWG
Co-Chairs: Joy Cavagnaro, Access BIO and David Schubert, Stealth Peptides 

Professional Education, Training, & Development
Chair: Daniel Mudgett, Medidata Solutions Worldwide

Project Management 
Chair: John Sun, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

Quality Risk Management 
Chair: Peter Schiemann, Widler & Schiemann Ltd

Regulatory Affairs 
Chair: Linda Bowen, Sanofi US

Chair: Joan Buenconsejo, AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP

Study Endpoints 
Chair: Chad Gwaltney, ERT and Annabel Nixon, PRMA Consulting Ltd

Translational Medicine 
Chair: OPEN